Premier Kathleen Wynne announced new laws against drug-impaired driving yesterday, which introduces tough regulation and punishment for driving under the influence.
Steven Del Duca, Ontario’s minister of transportation has said that there will be zero tolerance for anyone 21 years old and under, new drivers and commercial drivers. All other drivers will have to stay under a limit which is still to be set.
Premier Wynne said road safety will be a priority once recreational weed is legalized in 2018, and said that Ontario will learn from the model implemented in California, Washington and Colorado.
“We had a goal to balance the new freedom that people in Ontario will have to use cannabis recreationally with everyone’s expectation that it will be managed responsibly,” said premier Wynne.
According to this Ontario press release, every time you are caught driving while high you will be issued a fine and a suspension of the driver’s license. So no more hotboxing on the road, OK?
Here is what the fines and suspensions are as of July 1st:
- For a first offense, young drivers — and all G1, G2, M1, and M2 license holders — will face a three-day suspension and a $250 fine.
- A second will result in a week-long suspension and a $350 fine with all subsequent occurrences penalized with a 30-day suspension and a $450 fine.
- Commercial drivers will face three-day suspensions any time they are caught and fined up to $450.
- All other drivers found to be within the blood-alcohol concentrate range of between .05 and .08 will face suspensions of between three and 30 days and fines of up to $450.
- Those with blood-alcohol concentrate levels above .08 face a 90-day suspension and $550 fines.